My little garden ….

… and monkeys.

In the beginning of November I threw some pumpkin pips onto my compost heap. With nearly three weeks of just about constant rain they quickly germinated. But being la-di-da seeds the vine did not, as usual grow along the ground but decided to grow up the washing line.

img_1870

It looked rather spectacular so I left it to do its thing.

Eventually a pumpkin started developing.

img_1893

But then my good friends, the Vervet Monkeys discovered it and decided to check if it was ripe enough to eat.

img_1929

Not quite to their taste so they left some.

A few days later  I watched about five of them swinging on the vine and chomping at the pumpkin. Unfortunately I did not have my camera with me but believe me, they made an unholy mess of the plant and the pumpkin came loose from its mooring. So I decide to pull the whole lot down and add it to the compost heap. (Un)fortunately I did not have time to chop up the pumpkin so this afternoon the monkeys were back again!

img_1969

img_1963

And they had a glorious time!

No pumpkin for me but what the hell! Live and let live!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My little garden ….

  1. Pussycat44 says:

    It’s the natural thing to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

